Peer reviewed articles and other publications in English

The doctoral dissertation Motor skills, attention and academic achievements contains a summary in English and can be ordered (19 Euro) through mail to Ingegerd Ericsson. Now You can also order MUGI Observation Checklist with instructions in English (11 Euro).

Peer reviewed articles

(2003). Motor skills, attention and academic achievements - An intervention study in school year 1-3. Lund University Dissertation Abstracts, www.lub.lu.se.

(2006). Motor skills, attention and academic achievements - an intervention study in school year 1-3. Accepted 06-05-30 for publication in The British Educational Research Journal. Available 2007-10-27 onhttp://www.informaworld.com.
(2006). Attention in a Relational perspective. [In Swedish: Koncentrationsförmåga ur ett relationellt perspektiv.] Educare, 2(1), 38-53. Abstract.
Ericsson, I. (2006). Koncentrationsförmåga ur ett relationellt perspektiv. Educare vetenskapliga skrifter, 2(1), 38-53. Tillgänglig 2007-05-08 på MUEP Malmö University Electronic Publishing.
Gustafsson, P., Ericsson, I., Lindén, C., Karlsson, M.K., Thernlund, G., & Svedin, C.G. (2006). Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and motor function: clinical importance of soft signs. Submitted.

(2007). Effects of Increased Physical Activity and Motor Training on Motor Skills, Attention and Learning. Paper presented at the 13th Conference on Thinking. In Linköping University Electronic Press, (Ed.), Proceedings Vol. In Peer Reviewed Papers (pp. 51-57). Available 07-07-05 on http://www.liu.se/thinkingconference.
(2007). Physical activity and Learning. Abstract. Citizenship Education in Society - A challenge for the Nordic countries. Children´s identity & Citizenship in Europe, CiCE Conference 4th - 5th October 2007. Tillgänglig 2007-09-28 på http://www.mah.se.
(2007). MUGI observation checklist: An alternative to measuring motor skills in physical education classes. The Asian Journal of Exercise & Sports Science, 4(1), 1-8.
(2007). Motor observations and school results. [In Swedish: Motorikobservationer och skolprestationer]. Nordisk Pedagogik, 27(2), 111–118. Abstract.
(2007). Motorikobservationer och skolprestationer. Nordisk pedagogik, (2), 111-118. Tillgänglig 2007-08-19 på MUEP Malmö University Electronic Publishing ; 07-11-21 på http://www.idrottsforum.org/articles.

Gustafsson, P., Thernlund, G., Besjakov, J., Karlsson, M., Ericsson, I., & Svedin, C.G. (2008). ADHD symptoms and maturity – a study in primary school children. Acta Pædiatrica, (97), 233-238.
(2008). To measure and improve motor skills in practice with the MUGI model for motor observations and training. Paper presented at The 3rd Scandinavian Pediatric Obesity Conference (SPOC), in Malmö, March 6-7th.
(2008). To measure and improve motor skills in practice. International Journal of Pediatric Obesity, 3(1), 21-27.
(2008). Motor skills, attention and academic achievements - an intervention study in school year 1-3. The British Educational Research Journal, 34(3), 301-313.

Ericsson,I., Grahn, P., & Skärbäck, E. (2009). The Impact of Local Environment and how it can be affected [In Swedish: Närmiljöns betydelse och hur den kan påverkas]. Educare, (1), 80-101. Abstract.
Ericsson, I., Grahn, P. & Skärbäck, E. (2009). Närmiljöns betydelse och hur den kan påverkas. Educare, (1), 80-101. Tillgänglig 2009-06-08 på http://www.mah.se; 2010-01-20 på http://pub-epsilon.slu.se.

Gustafsson, P., Svedin, C.G., Ericsson, I., Lindén, C., Karlsson, M., & Thernlund, G. (2010). Reliability and validity of the assessment of soft signs in children with and without Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology, (52), 364–370.

Ericsson, I., & Cederberg, M. (2010). Physical activity among young people who do not achieve primary objectives. A questionnaire and interview survey among IV-studentsin Malmö 2008. (Paper presented at NERA´s 38th Congress). In Abstracts, active citizenship, (p. 221). Malmö: Malmö University. Available 2010-02-10 at http://www.mah.se/upload/LUT/Konferenser/Abstractbok.

Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2010). Effects of Increased Physical activity and Motor training on Motor Skills and Self-esteem: An Intervention Study in School years 1 through 9. Accepted for publication in International Journal of Sport Psychology.

Ericsson, I. (2010). Effects of Increased Physical activity on Motor skills and Marks in Physical Education: An intervention study in school years 1 through 9 in Sweden. Accepted for publication in Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy.

Ericsson, I. (2010). Motor Skills Observations and Marks in Physical Education: Validation of MUGI checklists. Submitted.

  • Ericsson, I. & Cederberg, M. (2010). Fysisk aktivitet bland ungdomar som inte uppnår grundskolans mål. En enkät- och intervjuundersökning bland IV-elever i Malmö 2008. Aktuell Beteende- och Samhällsvetenskaplig Idrottsforskning SVEBIs årsbok 2009, 45-79.
  • Ericsson, I. & Cederberg, M. (2010). Fysisk aktivitet bland ungdomar som inte uppnår grundskolans mål. En enkätundersökning bland IV-elever i Malmö 2008. (Särtryck ur SVEBIs årsbok 2009). Lund: SVEBI.


  • Ericsson, I. (2011). Effects of increased Physical Activity on Motor Skills and Self-esteem: A Longitudinal Intervention Study during Nine School Years. In T. Söderström, J. Fahlén, & K. Wickman (Eds.), Book of abstracts, 8th European Association for Sociology of Sport (p. 178). Umeå: Department of Education, Umeå University.

    Ericsson, I. (2011). Effects of increased physical activity on motor skills and marks in physical education: an intervention study in school years 1 through 9 in Sweden. Physical Education & Sport Pedagogy, 16(3), 313-329. Available online: 21 Jun 2011.

    Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2011). Effects of Increased Physical activity and Motor training on Motor Skills and Self-esteem: An Intervention Study in School years 1 through 9. International Journal of Sport Psychology, 42, 461-479.

    Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2011). Daily Physical Education Improves Motor Skills and School Performance – A Nine-Year Prospective Intervention Study. Submitted.

    Ericsson, I. (2011). Motorisk Utveckling som Grund för Inlärning (MUGI) Observation Checklist [Database record]. PsycTESTS, American Psychological Association (APA). http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/psyctests/index.aspx. doi: 10.1037/t02819-000.

    Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2012). Motor Skills and School Performance in Children with Daily Physical Education in School – A Nine-Year Intervention Study. The Scandinavian Journal of Medicine and Science in Sports. Available 2012-04-09 in “Wiley Online”.

    Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2012). Daily Physical Education Improves Motor Skills and School Performance – A Nine-Year Prospective Intervention Study. The pre-peer reviewed version of the article: “Motor Skills and School Performance in Children with Daily Physical Education in School – A Nine-Year Intervention Study”, published in final form in Scandinavian Journal of Medicine & Science in Sports, 8 April 2012. Available 2012-05-04 on Malmö University Electronic Publishing (MUEP) and 2012-05-09 on idrottsforum.org/articles.

    Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2012). Daily physical activity improves motor skills and school performance – A nine-year prospective controlled intervention study in 220 children. In Universidade de Madeira (Ed.), Abstracts Book of the 7th European Youth Heart Study Scientific Symposium, 22-26 October 2012, (p. 33). Funchal: Kontra Kapa.

    Ericsson, I., & Cederberg, M. (2013). Physical activity and school performance: a survey among students not qualified for upper secondary school. Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy. Available 2013-04-17 on http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/17408989.2013.788146.
  • Ericsson, I. (2013). Motor Skills Observations and Marks in Physical Education; Validation of Motorisk Utvecklig som Grund för Inlärning (MUGI) observation checklists. In N. Balagué, C. Torrents, A. Vilanova, J. Cadefau, R. Tarragó, & E. Tsolakidis (Eds.), 18th annual Congress of the EUROPEAN COLLEGE OF SPORT SCIENCE, 26th - 29th June 2013, Barcelona – Spain, BOOK OF ABSTRACTS (p. 165). Barcelona: National Institute of Physical Education of Catalonia (INEFC).
  • Ericsson, I. (2013). PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND LEARNING IN THE SWEDISH BUNKEFLO PROJECT. EVALUATION OF MOTOR SKILLS TRAINING IN COMPULSORY SCHOOL. Journal of International Scientific Publication: Educational Alternatives, 11(1), 134-144.
  • Ericsson, I. (2014). Effects of Motor skills training and daily Physical Education. International Journal of Physical Education, (2), 19-29.
  • Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2014). Motor Skills and School Performance in Children with Daily Physical Education in School – A Nine-Year Intervention Study. Scandinavian Journal of Medicine and Science in Sports, 24(2), 273-278. DOI: 10.1111/j.1600-0838.2012.01458.x. Published online 2012-04-08.
  • Ericsson, I., & Cederberg, M. (2015). Physical activity and school performance: a survey among students not qualified for upper secondary school. Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy, 20(1), 45-66. Available 2013-04-17 on http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/17408989.2013.788146.
  • Bangsbo, Jens, Krustrup, Peter, Duda, Joan, Hillman, Charles, Andersen, Lars, Williams, Craig, Lintunen, Taru, Green, Ken, Riis Hansen, Peter, Naylor, Patti-Jean, Ericsson, Ingegerd, Nielsen, Glen, Froberg, Karsten, Bugge, Anna, Lundbye-Jensen, Jesper, Schipperijn, Jasper, Dagkas, Symeaon, Agergaard, Sine, von Seelen, Jesper, Østergaard, Charlotte, Skovgaard, Thomas, Busch, Henrik, & Elbe, Anne-Marie (2016). Consensus statement. The Copenhagen Consensus Conference 2016: children, youth, and physical activity in schools and during leisure time. British Journal of Sports Medicine, doi:10.1136/bjsports-2016-096325. Available 2016-06-27 on http://bjsm.bmj.com/content/early/2016/05/27/bjsports-2016-096325.full
  • Book chapters

    (2005). Motor skills, Attention and Academic achievements. World Summit on Physical Education Bulletin, 44 (pp.33-39). Berlin: International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE).

    (2005). Motor skills and academic achievements - Research in the Bunkeflo Project. In L. Andersson-Stenquist (Ed.), The 8th WABC World Conference on Aquatic Education of Babies & Young Children (p. 25). Malmö: The Swedish Swimming Federation.

  • Ericsson, I. (2014). Motor Skills Observations and Grades in Physical Education. Evaluation of MUGI Observation Checklists. In R. Todaro (Ed.), Handbook of Physical Education Research (pp. 297-310). New York: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
  • Bangsbo, J., Krustrup, P., Duda, J., Hillman, C., Andersen, L. B., Williams, C. A., Weiss, M., Lintunen, T., Green, K., Riis Hansen, P., Naylor, P-J., Ericsson, I., Nielsen, G., Froberg, K., Bugge, A., Lundbye-Jensen, J., Schipperijn, J., Dagkas, S., Agergaard, S., von Seelen, J., Østergaard, C., Skovgaard, T., Busch, H., & Elbe, A-M. (2016). The Copenhagen Consensus Conference 2016 – Children, Youth, and Physical Activity in Schools and during Leisure Time. Copenhagen: Copenhagen Centre for Team Sport and Health, Department of Nutrition, Exercise and Sports, University of Copenhagen.
  • Ericsson, I. (2017). EFFECTS OF PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND MOTOR SKILLS ACQUISITION ON EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS AND SCHOLASTIC PERFORMANCE: A REVIEW. In R. V. Nata (Ed.), Progress in Education, 43 (pp. 71-104). New York: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
  • Other articles

    (2001). Physical Education in Swedish schools. www.bunkefloprojektet.malmo.se; www.svenskidrottsmedicin.org.

    (2001). The Bunkeflo Project - for a healthy way of living. www.bunkefloprojektet.malmo.se, 2001; www.svenskidrottsmedicin.org,2001; www.bunkeflomodellen.com, 2002.

    (2002). Pedagogics and motor skill - the importance of motor skill for development and learning - Motor skill observations of 204 schoolchildren. Abstract of the Swedish article Pedagogik och motorik. www.mugi.se

    (2003). Pedagogic and Physical Education: Motor skill observations of 204children. Abstract. Malmö University Electronic Publishing MUEP, www.mah.se/forskning/, 1998; www. idrottsforum.org, 2003.

    (2003). Motor skills, attention and academic achievements - An intervention study in school year 1-3. Abstract of doctoral dissertation. www.mugi.se

    (2006). Worth knowing about Motor Development. Review of J.P. Piek: Infant Motor Development. Available 06-09-20 on http://www.idrottsforum.org/reviews/items/eriing_piek.html.
    (2007). Conference report: Thinking Outside the Box. Available 07-08-28 on http://www.idrottsforum.org/features; 08-05-15 onhttp://www.liu.se/thinkingconference/

    (2008). New ways of learning motor skills. (Review). Available 08-04-23 on http://www.idrottsforum.org/reviews.

    (2008). Social aspects of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. (Review). Available 2008-10-01 at http://www.idrottsforum.org.

    Cederberg, M. & Ericsson, I. (2009). Student Experiences of the Compulsory School in Malmö: in the words of students in the IV- Programme. Summary and student suggestions. Available 2009-09-10 on www.malmo.se.

    Ericsson, I. (2010). Motor Learning & Control for Practitioners. (Review). Available 2010-09-01 on http://www.idrottsforum.org/reviews.

  • Ericsson, I. (2012). Key issues in childhood physical activity science. (Review). Idrottsforum.org. Available 12-12-12 on idrottsforum.org/121212.
  • Ericsson, I. (2013). Useful reference book on motor development and learning from experts in the field. (Review). Idrottsforum.org. Available 2013-04-04 on idrottsforum.org/archive.

  • Conference Papers

    (2004). Motor skills and learning. Paper presented at the Nordic Sociological Association Conference.

    (2005). Motor skills, attention and academic achievements. World Leisure European Conference. Paper abstracts.

    (2007). Effects of Increased Physical Activity and Motor Training on Motor Skills, Attention and Learning. Paper presented at the 13th Conference on Thinking. In Linköping University Electronic Press, (Ed.), Proceedings Vol.I Peer Reviewed Papers, (pp. 51-57). Available 07-07-05on http://www.liu.se/thinkingconference.

    (2007). Physical activity and Learning. Abstract. Citizenship Education in Society - A challenge for the Nordic countries. Children´s identity & Citizenship in Europe, CiCE Conference 4th - 5th October 2007. Tillgänglig 2007-09-28 på http://www.mah.se.

    (2008). To measure and improve motor skills in practice with the MUGI model for motor observations and training. Paper presented at The 3rd Scandinavian Pediatric Obesity Conference (SPOC), in Malmö, March 6-7th.

    Ericsson, I. & Cederberg, M. (2010). Physical activity among young people who do not achieve primary objectives. A questionnaire and interview survey among IV-students in Malmö 2008. (Paper presented at NERA´s 38th Congress). In Abstracts, active citizenship, (p. 221). Malmö: Malmö University. Available 2010-02-10 at http://www.mah.se/upload/LUT/Konferenser/Abstractbok.

    Ericsson, I. (2011). Effects of increased Physical Activity on Motor Skills and Self-esteem: A Longitudinal Intervention Study during Nine School Years. In T. Söderström, J. Fahlén, & K. Wickman (Eds.), Book of abstracts, 8th European Association for Sociology of Sport (p. 178). Umeå: Department of Education, Umeå University.

  • Ericsson, I., & Karlsson, M. (2012). Daily physical activity improves motor skills and school performance – A nine-year prospective controlled intervention study in 220 children. In Universidade de Madeira (Ed.), Abstracts Book of the 7th European Youth Heart Study Scientific Symposium, 22-26 October 2012, (p. 33). Funchal: Kontra Kapa.
  • Ericsson, I. (2013). PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND LEARNING IN THE SWEDISH BUNKEFLO PROJECT. EVALUATION OF MOTOR SKILLS TRAINING IN COMPULSORY SCHOOL. Journal of International Scientific Publication: Educational Alternatives, 11(1), 134-144.
  • Ericsson, I. (2013). Motor Skills Observations and Marks in Physical Education; Validation of Motorisk Utvecklig som Grund för Inlärning (MUGI) observation checklists. In N. Balagué, C. Torrents, A. Vilanova, J. Cadefau, R. Tarragó, & E. Tsolakidis (Eds.), 18th annual Congress of the EUROPEAN COLLEGE OF SPORT SCIENCE, 26th - 29th June 2013, Barcelona – Spain, BOOK OF ABSTRACTS (p. 165). Barcelona: National Institute of Physical Education of Catalonia (INEFC).
  • Ericsson, I. (2015). Society gains from daily physical education. In A. Radmann, S. Hedenborg, & E. Tsolakidis (Eds.), Congress of the EUROPEAN COLLEGE OF SPORT SCIENCE Book of ABSTRACTS (p. 101). Malmö: Malmö University, Lund University & Copenhagen University. ISBN 978-91-7104-567-6
  • Knez, K., Ekberg, J., Ericsson, I., & Londos, M. (2015). Inclusion within Swedish Physical Education? Problematizing the ‘text’ surrounding physical education and the experiences of immigrant youth. In A. Radmann, S. Hedenborg, & E. Tsolakidis (Eds.), Congress of the EUROPEAN COLLEGE OF SPORT SCIENCE Book of ABSTRACTS (p.269). Malmö: Malmö University, Lund University & Copenhagen University. ISBN 978-91-7104-567-6.
  • To book a lecture about motor skills observations, motor training and the research in the Bunkeflo Project please contact
    info@mugi.se